My new case mod

User avatar
Newcomer
Posts: 21
Species: Panda

FuzziBear, Fri Jun 04, 2010 1:14 am

So, I've had some computer issues that involved me replacing my motherboard, CPU, memory and DVD drive as well as sending my graphics card back for warranty. All up, a very expensive process for something unexpected like this. I got my graphics card back today, was really excited! I could finally get my PC working propperly again! Yay!

Turned the PC on and it just kept rebooting... What? D: My card just came back from being fixed! Oh, not enough power! With all the new stuff in my PC, and the extra 2 molex that the graphics card needed, it was overloading my poor 550w :(

So, I checked out 750w PSUs... $80?! HELL NO...










Here is my solution. It's much more elegant I think :P!:
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
Newcomer
Posts: 3
Species: Xenowolf

Xenithion, Fri Jun 04, 2010 8:32 am

Haha, nice job!
It is something I would expect to find on thereifixedit.com
Especially if it shorts out or something.... But here's to hoping your improv doesn't fail! :D

User avatar
Newcomer
Posts: 29
Species: Snowliopard

Fuzzyball, Fri Jun 04, 2010 11:44 am

Great job!
I had a similar setup on a previous computer. I bought a new, more powerful PSU but it didn't fit in the case so I just mounted it on top instead.
But yeah, using two of them is a brilliant idea!

User avatar
Newcomer
Posts: 21
Species: Panda

FuzziBear, Fri Jun 04, 2010 11:45 am

It is something I would expect to find on thereifixedit.com[/quote]
I was thinking that the whole time while I was doing it! hahaha

User avatar
Newcomer
Posts: 6
Species: Otter

Reathen, Fri Jun 04, 2010 2:50 pm

I love it!

I knew there was a reason I liked you. :roll:

User avatar
Newcomer
Posts: 21
Species: Panda

FuzziBear, Fri Jun 04, 2010 4:15 pm

I knew there was a reason I liked you. :roll:[/quote]
because i strap things to my computer? thats depressing lol

User avatar
Newcomer
Posts: 24
Species: Coonfox

Joey, Fri Jun 04, 2010 7:52 pm

He's a mad man

A MAD MANNNNNNN!!!

User avatar
Furstralian
Posts: 219
Location: Sydney - NSW

Yaps, Fri Jun 11, 2010 11:11 pm

What GFX card are you using? If it sucks more than 550W, it must be one of those expensive ones.
~Yaps

User avatar
Newcomer
Posts: 21
Species: Panda

FuzziBear, Wed Jun 16, 2010 3:23 pm

What GFX card are you using? If it sucks more than 550W, it must be one of those expensive ones.[/quote]
Radeon HD4870... not expensive, however it's ATI so it always runs hot and sucks juice :3 just like my processor being AMD lol


Return to “Photography”