IRC

User avatar
CuriousDragon
Newcomer
Newcomer
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 6:14 pm
Species: Dragon

IRC

Postby CuriousDragon » Thu Jan 06, 2011 9:51 pm

It is a bit confusing at first, but there's plenty of sites online that'll guide you through basic things.[/quote]
ok last question, what time are people from Furstralia usually on?
User avatar
Dar'z
Newcomer
Newcomer
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 10:30 pm
Species: Panthera Pardus Caracal

Re: IRC

Postby Dar'z » Sat Jan 08, 2011 5:24 pm

Aaah, what on earth is this? Connect to server..wha server do I pick? the furry one mentioned at the start of this thread doesn't appear in the list?
User avatar
Ganther
Newcomer
Newcomer
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 8:14 pm
Species: Snow Leopard

Re: IRC

Postby Ganther » Sat Jan 08, 2011 5:31 pm

No one slap me if I'm wrong! I only just set mine up a couple of days ago.

Anyway I do believe the server is:
irc.furnet.org

Well that's what I've been using anyway...
User avatar
Dar'z
Newcomer
Newcomer
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 10:30 pm
Species: Panthera Pardus Caracal

Re: IRC

Postby Dar'z » Sat Jan 08, 2011 5:38 pm

Ganther wrote:No one slap me if I'm wrong! I only just set mine up a couple of days ago.

Anyway I do believe the server is:
irc.furnet.org

Well that's what I've been using anyway...
I put that in my server, but when it says chatroom I go to the dropdown list and it says "connection is disconnected", and come up with a blank list (I'm using Colloquy). Can anyone help?
User avatar
Ganther
Newcomer
Newcomer
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 8:14 pm
Species: Snow Leopard

Re: IRC

Postby Ganther » Sat Jan 08, 2011 5:57 pm

Okay I worked out most of it. Well I made a new connection and clicky clicky until stuff worked...

Anyway:
Make a new connection and hit details
Give yourself a Nickname
making sure Chat Server is irc.furnet.org
Don't use a proxy
My chat server Ports are set to 667 (don't know if this matters)
The rest of the boxes can be ignored (change your name to your nick if you'd like to remain anonymous)
Next click connect
Go to your connection in the main window then select it and click join room
(is your problem here?)
When prompted with the box look at chatroom and click on the second blue arrow to await screen fill.
Next join any random chat room and use the necessary commands to register a nick (they are somewhere on this thread...)
User avatar
Dar'z
Newcomer
Newcomer
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 10:30 pm
Species: Panthera Pardus Caracal

IRC

Postby Dar'z » Sat Jan 08, 2011 6:24 pm

Aaah, what on earth is this? Connect to server..wha server do I pick? the furry one mentioned at the start of this thread doesn't appear in the list?
User avatar
Ganther
Newcomer
Newcomer
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 8:14 pm
Species: Snow Leopard

IRC

Postby Ganther » Sat Jan 08, 2011 6:31 pm

No one slap me if I'm wrong! I only just set mine up a couple of days ago.

Anyway I do believe the server is:
irc.furnet.org

Well that's what I've been using anyway...
User avatar
Dar'z
Newcomer
Newcomer
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 10:30 pm
Species: Panthera Pardus Caracal

IRC

Postby Dar'z » Sat Jan 08, 2011 6:38 pm

No one slap me if I'm wrong! I only just set mine up a couple of days ago.

Anyway I do believe the server is:
irc.furnet.org

Well that's what I've been using anyway...[/quote]

I put that in my server, but when it says chatroom I go to the dropdown list and it says "connection is disconnected", and come up with a blank list (I'm using Colloquy). Can anyone help?
User avatar
Ganther
Newcomer
Newcomer
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 8:14 pm
Species: Snow Leopard

IRC

Postby Ganther » Sat Jan 08, 2011 6:57 pm

Okay I worked out most of it. Well I made a new connection and clicky clicky until stuff worked...

Anyway:
Make a new connection and hit details
Give yourself a Nickname
making sure Chat Server is irc.furnet.org
Don't use a proxy
My chat server Ports are set to 667 (don't know if this matters)
The rest of the boxes can be ignored (change your name to your nick if you'd like to remain anonymous)
Next click connect
Go to your connection in the main window then select it and click join room
(is your problem here?)
When prompted with the box look at chatroom and click on the second blue arrow to await screen fill.
Next join any random chat room and use the necessary commands to register a nick (they are somewhere on this thread...)
User avatar
Dar'z
Newcomer
Newcomer
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 10:30 pm
Species: Panthera Pardus Caracal

Re: IRC

Postby Dar'z » Sat Jan 08, 2011 7:46 pm

Flewk wrote:
Emba~Lyn wrote:
Smokey wrote: i think the link isnt a website i think its the server that you connect to via mIRC
I thought thats where i go to register. i can't get onto any oznet or furnet sites
To register, you need to enter commands into the status bar of the irc client, say mIRC

-To connect to the furnet server for example, you type

Code: Select all

/server irc.furnet.org
-Next you specify what handle you want to use with

Code: Select all

/nick Fuzzlebub
, if you wanted to use the name "Fuzzlebub"

-A lot of main channels want you to register your nickname first, so you use the command format

Code: Select all

/msg nickserv register password email
This means you end up typing something like

Code: Select all

/msg nickserv register furry01 someemail@hotmail.com
This will register the current name you are using with the password furry01 as an example. At that stage it sends a confirmation code and instructions to that email

-When you are registered, furnet will want you to identify who you are with the password you registered with:

Code: Select all

/msg nickserv identify furry01
-And then you can start joining channels with

Code: Select all

/join #furaffinity 
Some channels are #ozfurs #australia #brisfurs
Very useful. Thanks for posting it.

And Ganther, thank you too. Most helpful. I'm on now.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests